Memorial Hall, Harvard University Cambridge, Massachusetts, 1878

Completed in 1878, Memorial Hall was built as a lasting tribute to the many Harvard students that gave their lives in the Civil War. Funds for the tribute were extensive and raised in a very short time, indicating the great appreciation of sacrifice.

The building was constructed to provided a needed meeting hall and theater for the University. Designed by architects William Robert Ware and Henry Van Brunt in 1865, this magnificent structure is a testament to the

honor given to those that sacrificed all during the war.

Working in coordination with a large regional construction company, Scott McDowell was brought in to restore virtually all of the historical doors in the building, both interior and exterior, and on either side of the transept. In all, Scott restored over 50 doors, completing everything except the finishing.

With the interior, Scott restored many types of doors, including those with the beautiful stained glass. Scott also carefully restored the large exterior doors. If you visit Memorial

Hall, look very closely at the main entrance doors. The small diamond shaped “Dutchman”, which are nearly invisible, are a prime example of how the beautiful but damaged doors could be saved and given new life through restoration rather than replacement.

Reputation and experience as a true craftsman separated Scott from other carpenters, and he was chosen and entrusted with the careful restoration of the doors, including those with rare and delicate stained glass. Scott’s skills and talent are trusted by the best.